top of page

LIVE: Libby Mettam takes on David Honey for WA Liberal leadership

They are the only two lower house Liberal MPs following the 2021 landslide Labor win.

This page is providing rolling coverage of the WA Liberal leadership spill and will continue to update. To watch 6 News live, click here.

Libby Mettam, the member for Vasse in the Western Australia Legislative Assembly, has reportedly challenged David Honey for the leadership of the WA Liberal Party.

They are the only two lower house Liberal MPs after the 2021 WA election saw Labor gain a majority in both houses, but there are an additional 7 in the upper house.

Regardless, The Nationals are set to remain the official opposition - even after their leader, Mia Davies, resigned. They have 3 other MLAs, with Davies to stay in parliament until the 2025 election.

These are all the current WA Liberal MPs:

Help support unbiased journalism & keep us independent: donate just $4 a month on Patreon & receive exclusive benefits.

Sign up to our free newsletter to read the latest from the editor - click here. Want to inform others? Share the link to this story on social media & with your family & friends using the buttons below.


bottom of page