top of page

Rex Patrick thanks staff on final day as senator - read the full list of senators not re-elected

Updated: Jul 3, 2022

Today is his final official day as a senator, with a similar situation for many around the country.

Independent senator Rex Patrick has thanked his "incredible staff & advisors" on his final day as Senator for South Australia.

Patrick was not re-elected at last month's election.

The Coalition has lost Eric Abetz (Liberal), Ben Small (Liberal), Zed Seselja (Liberal), Concetta Fierravanti-Wells (Liberal), Greg Mirabella (Liberal) and Amanda Stoker (LNP).

Abetz was defeated by the Jacqui Lambie Network's Tammy Tyrrell, Seselja lost to independent David Pocock, Stoker lost with The Greens gaining a Queensland senate seat, and Mirabella lost to the UAP's Ralph Babet.

Ben Small was a sitting WA Senator until being caught out by Section 44 & resigning just before the election. He was running for re-election.

Fierravanti-Wells was dumped from the Coalition's ticket & was replaced by The Nationals' Ross Cadell, who was elected.

Labor has lost one of its NSW Senate seats to The Greens that was held by Kristina Keneally, who resigned to contest the lower house seat of Fowler, a race she lost.

Kim Carr was not re-contesting his Victorian senate seat, but Linda White retained it for the ALP.

Sam McMahon, who was elected as a Country Liberal but quit to sit as an independent & later join the Liberal Democrats, has lost in the NT.

Centre Alliance Senator Stirling Griff is out as a South Australian senator, leaving Rebekha Sharkie as the party's only sitting MP.

Centre Alliance did not actually run in any senate races, with Griff on the 'Group O' ticket with Nick Xenophon.

Rex Patrick quit the party to sit as an independent & recontest unsuccessfully for the Rex Patrick Team. He's also lost his seat, with The Greens gaining an SA senate seat & the Liberals gaining a third.

The official term for senators expired today.

This means there's been a total loss of 4 senate seats for the Coalition, none for Labor (they won 1 in WA), 1 for the Liberal Democrats, 1 for Centre Alliance & 1 for the Rex Patrick Team.

Help support unbiased journalism & keep us independent: donate just $4 a month on Patreon & receive exclusive benefits.

Want to inform others? Share the link to this story on social media & with your family & friends using the buttons below.


bottom of page