top of page

A short history of the electorates that have been replaced or abolished ahead of the Vic election

Updated: Jul 5, 2022

Seats held by both Labor & the Liberals have been abolished.

Following redistributions, a number of electorates have been abolished by the Victorian Electoral Commission ahead of the November election.

Altona has always been held by Labor since - first, Carole Marple from 1992 until 1996, then Lynne Kosky from 1996 until 2010. Jill Hennessy, who is retiring this election, is the current member. It's been replaced by Point Cook.

Buninyong is also an electorate that's only ever been Labor-held - Geoff Howard from 2014 until 2018, and Michaela Settle from 2018 onwards. It's been replaced by Eureka.

Burwood was first held by Liberal and Country (later Liberal) MP Jim MacDonald from 1955 until 1965, when it was abolished.

It returned in 1976, and was most notably held by former Premier Liberal Jeff Kennett from 1976 until 1999.

After that, Labor's Bob Stensholt held it until 2010, Graham Watt regained it for the Liberals until 2018, and Labor's Will Fowles has held it since then. It's being replaced by Ashwood.

Ferntree Gully was first held by Anne Eckstein for the ALP from 2002 until 2006, then Nick Wakeling onwards - now being split into the already-existing electorates of Bayswater, Rowville and Monbulk.

Forest Hill was originally Liberal held - John Richardson from 1976 until 2002 - then Labor's Kirstie Marshall until 2010 & back to the Liberals with Neil Angus. It's been replaced by the seat of Glen Waverley, which existed from 1985 until 2002.

Gembrook was first held by Labor's Tammy Lobato from 2002 until Liberal Brad Battin won the seat in 2010.​ It has been split into the electorates of Berwick (revived seat, existed from 1976 until 2002), Pakenham (new seat) and Monbulk.

Keysborough has only ever been held by 1 MP - Labor's Martin Pakula since 2014, who is not seeking reelection in the upper house as was originally reported. The seat is being split into the already-existing seats of Clarinda, Dandenong and Mordialloc.

Mount Waverley is currently held by Labor's Matt Fregon, and was first held by Maxine Morand for Labor from 2002 & Liberal Michael Gidley from 2010 until 2018. Glen Waverley & Ashwood will replace it.

Yuroke, considered a very safe seat for Labor, was first held by Liz Beattie from 2002 until 2014 and Ros Spence onwards.

That's a total of 6 ALP-held seats & 3 Liberal-held seats being abolished.

Meanwhile, the upper house Eastern Metropolitan Region - currently with 2 ALP MPs, 2 Liberal MPs & 1 Transport Matters MP - will become the North-Eastern Metropolitan Region.

While most of them are considered new names, Ferntree Gully, Keysborough and Mount Waverley are the seats considered abolished rather than renamed or split.


Year created

​Current member


​Replaced by



Jill Hennessy


Point Cook



Michaela Settle




​1955-65; revived 1976

Will Fowles



Eastern Metropolitan Region​


Shaun Leane


North-Eastern Metropolitan Region

Matthew Bach


Sonja Terpstra


Bruce Atkinson


​Rod Barton


Ferntree Gully


Nick Wakeling


Split into Bayswater, Rowville and Monbulk.

Forest Hill


Neil Angus


Glen Waverley (revived seat)



Brad Battin


​Split into Berwick (revived seat), Pakenham (new seat) and Monbulk.



Martin Pakula


Split into Clarinda, Dandenong and Mordialloc.

Mount Waverley


Matt Fregon


Split into Glen Waverley (revived seat) and Ashwood (new seat).



Ros Spence


Replaced by new seats of Kalkallo and Greenvale.

Help support unbiased journalism & keep us independent: donate just $4 a month on Patreon & receive exclusive benefits.

Want to inform others? Share the link to this story on social media & with your family & friends using the buttons below.


bottom of page