top of page
  • Writer's picture6 News Australia

Independents groups in Kew & Hawthorn put out calls for candidates ahead of Victorian election

Kew is currently held by Liberal MP Tim Smith, who is not seeking re-election.

A group called 'Kew Independents' have put out a call for a candidate in the Victorian state seat, ahead of the election in November.

The seat of Kew is currently held by Liberal MP Tim Smith, who is not seeking re-election after crashing his car while drink-driving last year.

Kew has always been held by the Liberals & its predecessors since it was created in 1927.

Wilfrid Kent Hughes was the first Kew MP - a Nationalist until 1931, then the United Australia Party until 1945 when he joined the Liberal and Country Party (now the Victorian Liberals).

Arthur Rylah held the seat from 1949 to 1971, Rupert Hamer until 1981, Prue Sibree until 1988, Jan Wade until 1999 & Andrew McIntosh until 2014, when Tim Smith was elected.

Kew is part of the federal Kooyong electorate, which was won by independent Monique Ryan in May.

Kew Independents say they're looking for a candidate with "a passion for true representation," and one that can "develop their policy platform through community consultation, act with honesty, integrity and respect, (and) value evidence-based policy and community driven democracy."

A spokesperson for Kew Independents, Hayden O'Connor, has told 6 News that they are "an entirely separate organisation from Voices of Kooyong."

Mr O'Connor led the social media team for Monique Ryan during the federal election campaign.

He also said Kew Independents "does not have any links to Climate 200 and VEC regulations cap donations at $4,320 so it will be impossible for Climate 200 to provide a significant donation."

"Kew Independents has been consulting within the electorate since late May and is currently formalising governance structures in line with VEC requirements"

Labor is, according to Nine, set to pick Lucy Skelton as its Kew candidate, while the Liberals have already chosen Jess Wilson to contest the seat.

Another group, Hawthorn Independents, has also today put out a call for candidate nominations. The seat is currently held by first-term Labor MP John Kennedy.

As reported over the weekend, so-called 'teal independents' may be able to win a number of seats in November, including Kew - others being Brighton, Bulleen (Liberal-held), Box Hill (Labor-held) & Ashwood (new seat, notionally Labor).

Help support unbiased journalism & keep us independent: donate just $4 a month on Patreon & receive exclusive benefits.

Want to inform others? Share the link to this story on social media & with your family & friends using the buttons below.


bottom of page